The Fifth Annual Youth Mental Health Symposium will take place on February 19th, from 10am. Now in its fifth year, the symposium offers a platform to connect young people and their families with the practitioners, researchers and policymakers committed to creating lasting change across the youth mental health sector.
The theme of this year's event - Thriving in Uncertain Times, will be close to the hearts of many following the challenges of the past two years.

Due to COVID-19 suppression measures, we can only accommodate 100 people in-person for this year's symposium, so this will be strictly invite-only. With that in mind, the full event will be streamed online via our Facebook Page and available to everybody! This year, we are also hosting our popular exhibitor page online.

Cayman Life TV will also be streaming the full event on their YouTube channel click here to watch.


19 February 2022

9:30 a.m. Registration

10:00 a.m. Welcome

Lizzette Yearwood, Alex Panton Foundation

10:05 a.m. Welcome Remarks (5 mins)

Jane Panton, Chairperson, Alex Panton Foundation

10:10 a.m. Welcome Remarks

His Excellency Martyn Roper, OBE, Governor of the Cayman Islands

10:15 a.m. Opening Address

Hon Sabrina Turner, MP, Minister of Health and Wellness

10:20 a.m. Opening Address

Hon Andre Ebanks, JP, MP, Minister of Investment, Innovation and Social Development

10:25 a.m. Planning to Thrive in Uncertain Times

Dr Shari Smith, Clinical Psychologist, Life Options

11:00 a.m. Coffee Break

11:10 a.m. Sit with it: Accepting Life's Punches and Building Resiliency

Sutton Burke, Clinical Director, Infinite Mindcare

11:45 a.m. Youth Voice: How We Maintain Hope in These Uncertain Times

Youth Ambassador Programme | Bill LaMonte, Education Coordinator, Jhadari Lumley, Youth Ambassador Leader and Youth Ambassadors: Cristin Jackson (moderator), Isabella Do Vale, Soleil Parkinson, Lilly Haug and D’hani Bodden

12:25 p.m. How Adults and/or Parents Can Support Young People at Times of Uncertainty

Deirdre Carmola, SEN Case Manager Inclusion, Ministry of Education

1:00 p.m. Lunch

1:35 p.m. Touching Tomorrow from Today: The Value of Mentoring

Pastor Christopher Murray, Counsellor, John Gray High School and Director, Boyz2Men and   Seaford Russell and Mark Phillips, from the Boyz2Men programme.

1:55 p.m. Learning to thrive

Alanna Warwick-Smith, Brittany Evans & Zaria Anthony

2:25 p.m. YES WE CAN! Don't rule us out!

Clare Panyandee, PE Teacher, Lighthouse School

3:00 p.m. Coffee Break

3:10 p.m. Youth Voice: Inclusion4All

Monina Thompson, Youth Ambassador Leader

3:25 p.m.The Unique Reflection

Mario Garraway, Youth Counselor & Health Services Authority (HSA) Behavioural Health Aide

3:50 p.m. LGBTQ Research Data Presentation

Presentation researcher: Cavelle Chai-Hong-Delfosse, Clinical Psychologist, Aspire. Presented by Youth Ambassador representatives, Jhadari Lumley and Isaias Pascual. 

4:05 p.m. Closing Remarks

Hailee Robinson, Deputy Chairperson, Alex Panton Foundation

4:10 p.m. Closing

*Please be aware that the agenda may be subject to change.


His Excellency Martyn Roper

Governor of the Cayman Islands

Hon Andre Ebanks

JP, MP, Minister for Investment, Innovation and Social Development

Hon Sabrina Turner

MP, Minister of Health, Environment, Culture and Housing

Zaria Anthony

Trainee Pharmacy Technician, Doctors Hospital

D’hani Bodden

Youth Ambassador Programme

Sutton Burke

Clinical Director, Infinite Mindcare

Deirdre Carmola

SEN Case Manager, Inclusion, Ministry of Education

Isabella Do Vale

Youth Ambassador Programme

Brittany Evans

Student of Law, Truman Bodden Law School

Mario Garraway

Youth Counselor & Health Services Authority (HSA) Behavioural Health Aide

Lilly Haug

Youth Ambassador Programme

Cristin Jackson

Youth Ambassador Programme

Bill LaMonte, Youth Ambassador Programme

Youth Ambassador Programme, Education Coordinator

Jhadari Lumley

Youth Ambassador Programme

Pastor Christopher Murray

John Gray High School Counselor, Boyz2Men Cayman Director

Jane Panton

Chairperson, Chairperson, Director, and Co-Founder, Alex Panton Foundation

Clare Panyandee

PE Teacher, Lighthouse School

Soleil Parkinson

Youth Ambassador Programme

Isaias Pascual


Mark Phillips

Student, Boyz2Men Programme

Hailee Robinson

Deputy Chairperson and Legal & Policy Committee Member, Alex Panton Foundation

Seaford Russell Jr

Director, Boyz2Men

Dr. Shari Smith

Clinical Psychologist, Life Options

Monina Thompson

Youth Ambassador Programme

Alanna Warwick-Smith

Immediate Past President, Rotaract Blue

Lizzette Yearwood

Alternate Deputy Chairperson and Director, Alex Panton Foundation

Premium Sponsors

Media Partner

Lunch Sponsor

Gold Plus

Gold Sponsors

Wifi Sponsor

Silver Plus Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Coffee Break Sponsors